Is Coffee Creamer Gluten Free?

If you have celiac disease or other dietary restrictions preventing you from consuming gluten products, almost any food or beverage item can come under scrutiny. 

Especially when consuming trace amounts of gluten in any food or beverage item can lead to seriously painful repercussions. 

Drinking a warm, rich, freshly brewed mug of coffee can be the highlight of almost anyone’s sluggish morning. 

We all love and adore sipping from a warm mug of coffee to freshen up the mind and brighten up a lazy day. 

But before committing to new diet plans or meal plans restricting your gluten consumption even your beloved cup of joe can also fall under investigation. 

If you are someone with gluten sensitivity or said literary restrictions, do not dump your precious morning elixir down the drain just now. 

For the ones who are questioning whether or not coffee is gluten-free, the answer is more than just a straightforward yes or a no. 

To help you reach a clear and concise decision regarding your gluten-free lifestyle here is all you need to know about both gluten and coffee.

What is Gluten and Why is it bad for you?

Gluten is a family of structural proteins that are generally found in cereal grains like wheat, barley, and rye.

Etymologically, the term gluten is a Latin word that literally means “glue”. Just as its name suggests, gluten helps give the flour a sticky consistency when it is mixed with water. 

The glue-like property of gluten allows it to create networks and channels which allow the bread to rise up when it is baked. Gluten is also responsible for giving the bread a chewy texture. 

The term gluten strictly refers to the protein found in the cereal grain (wheat) proteins. 

In medical literature, the term is referred to the combination of two naturally occurring proteins prolamin and glutenin that have been proven to trigger Celiac Disease in individuals. 

Celiac Disease is an autoimmune condition that triggers the body to attack itself due to exposure to gluten. 

Almost 1% of individuals in the Western World suffer from this condition that can severely damage the intestines. 

If consuming products constraint grains such as wheat, and rye, and barely makes you feel uncomfortable it is best to get a Celiac Disease screening. 

What is a Gluten-Free Diet?

Many food items are prepared with gluten, hence it is recommended to check the labels before purchasing any items. 

In fact, most of your beloved foods that are too scrumptious to pass over are guilty of containing wheat, the key source of gluten. 

From kinds of pasta, bread, and delectable baked desserts, gluten is a notable character that gives these food items their desired constituency and flavor. 

In a gluten-free diet, one has to eliminate such food and beverage items in order to maintain a clean bill of health.  

But, eliminating the component gluten doesn’t mean your gluten-free diet is not nutritionally balanced 

Just like any other healthy diet plan, a gluten-free diet is wholesome, filling, and as the name suggests, gluten-free. 

An ideal gluten-free plate is embellished with nutritionally rich gluten-free food items such as fruits, vegetables, beans, nuts, seeds, lean meats, and fish.  

While most consider all grains to be harmful, grain lovers can still enjoy food items integrating grains like rice, millet, quinoa, corn, or buckwheat. 

Learn about Gluten-Free Diet in detail:

What should you not eat on a Gluten-Free Diet?

Just knowing what you should eat on a gluten-free diet plan doesn’t mean you have successfully escaped the grasp of gluten in your food items. 

In fact, gluten can be present in food or beverage items more discreetly than you may think. 

We all know by now that gluten (wheat proteins) is a key ingredient in most of the staple food items including your favorite golden brown toasts, pesto pasta, and even sugary baked goods. 

But did you know that gluten is also present in the following food and beverage items:

  • Energy Bars
  • Candies
  • Vegan Meat substitutes
  • Certain condiments and sauces such as soy sauce, gravies, or marinades
  • Soups 

In fact, in some instances, your favorite energizer, coffee, is not completely gluten-free, as gluten can sometimes sneak up when procuring your perfect cup of morning joe.

So, is coffee and coffee creamer gluten-free?

The short answer to this question is yes, coffee is as a matter of fact gluten-free, but only when prepared in a certain way. 

This is because the coffee plant is not part of the same plant family as wheat, rye, barley, and oats, and hence it doesn’t produce structural gluten proteins. 

Coffee when served either completely black or with a touch of milk and sugar is a perfect partner for a gluten-free diet. 

However, using milk alternatives, such as coffee creamers, or vegan milk substitutes can make the process of determining whether or not your coffee is gluten-free quite tricky. 

Vegan milk substitute such as oat milk is not a great additive for your cup of joe, especially when you are on a gluten-free diet. 

While vegan milk alternatives that do not contain any wheat grains are easy to pick and choose from, coffee creamers are where things become sneaky. 

At first glance, coffee creamers appear plain, simple, and most of all gluten-free, however, your coffee partner, in fact, contains gluten. 

Coffee creamers often integrate gluten to give the product a new and enhanced texture or consistency. Hence, it is best to check the labels without buying a new pack of coffee creamer.

See Also: